Camille Saint-Saëns’ Caprice Brilliant



Caprice Brilliant, the finale of Camille Saint-Saens’ Third Violin Concerto of 1859.

This is a transcription by Eugène Ysaÿe  distributed under the title ‘Rare Transcriptions Saint-Saëns – Ysaÿe’.


Charles-Camille Saint-Saëns, composer, 1835–1921, French

Eugène Ysaÿe:  1858–1931, violinist, composer, Belgian

Pascal Devoyon, French born 1953, pianist

Philippe Graffin, French, born 1964, violinist



Metropolitan Museum, Commode of veneered pine 1, 1765

Top of a commode of veneered pine, 1765, French.  Metropolitan Museum of Art, NY

2 thoughts on “Camille Saint-Saëns’ Caprice Brilliant

  1. Exquisite detail. Furniture use to be so rich in warmth and human touch. Thank you for sharing this inspired piece of art.

    1. Thank you, Susannah..

      This artisanal complexity, I suppose, is found now mostly in software design and for that I am content. But for those who could afford, what a rich life amidst this incredible craftsmanship!

Comments are closed.